navmenu
Durness Beach

Reviews

Read Croft 103 Reviews & Ratings

Mackay's Rooms - Highly Recommended in Scotland the Best 2016

Rated 5 Stars by VisitScotland, Highly Recommended in Scotland The Best & featured in The Times 50 Best Places to Stay.
Read reviews of Croft 103 on Google and Facebook.

Croft 103 in the press

The Guardian, November 2011
The drive here is one of the most spectacular in the country, if not all of Europe. But this far north life tends to the extreme. It’s craggy and wild – just as the end of the world should be. In contrast, [these cottages are] a picture of serenity. They look east over Eriboll, a vast sea loch, towards Ben Hope, the most northerly Munro.

Enormous glass runs the length [of each cottage], offering utterly spectacular views from every room. But despite all this glass, the near-Arctic location, and the polished concrete floors, it is quite a warm property. The key is in the design, which the Mackays say is “carbon negative”. We went outside to enjoy the perfect silence. A path led us, to our surprise, to a free-standing outdoor bath. It looked across the loch, to the purple and gold hills, and up to the cloud-free sky.

Conde Nast Traveller (UK), November 2011
The phrase ‘getting away from it all’ could have been made for North Sutherland, a remote area on the north coast of Scotland where the beat of a distant wind turbine and the bleating of sheep are the only noises likely to disturb your day. It is here, beside a loch, that Fiona and Robbie MacKay have created two ultimate escapes for couples who really, really do not want to be disturbed.

The Scotsman, January 2012
Both buildings, which have been five-star accredited, benefit from the highest quality materials. Caithness stone worktops and sinks look striking against stainless steel kitchen units and a polished concrete floor. The same stone also makes an appearance in the walk-in showers as well as windowsills and outdoor paving.

The Telegraph, March 2013
This was our favourite accommodation of a two-week trip around northern Scotland: a spacious, super-green and stylish one-bedroom eco cottage with spectacular views over Loch Eriboll and Ben Hope (Scotland’s most northerly Munro), and the dramatic clouds that whirl above them.

The Sunday Telegraph, June 2014
A pair of cottages at the top of the country, so remote that there are no nearby restaurants and even the nearest pub is three miles away. Super-sleek and with a Scandinavian flavour, both have floor-to-ceiling windows from which to drink in magnificent views of sea, sand and sky, as well as wood-clad walls, huge 7ft beds, modern kitchens and Sonos sound systems. There’s WiFi here, but far better to bike and hike before settling down for a night star-gazing from the magnificent terraces.

High Life, May 2014
Couples seeking escapism will love these two self-catering properties by Scotland’s Loch Eriboll. Glass walls and outdoor terraces highlight the epic surroundings: all swooping mountains and thundering waves. Inside you will find wooden walls, leather sofas and coal wood-burners.

Croft 103 guest reviews

Sian & Chris, March 2016
Croft 103 is an amazing place to stay – we expected superb accommodation and fantastic views … our high expectations were exceeded!! Words will never do justice to the whole experience of staying here. Truly dog friendly accommodation is not easy to find and certainly not at this extremely high standard – our 2 Bearded Collies, Lexie and Strider, loved the freedom to run free in the secure grounds as well as on the stunning local beaches. We will be sorry to leave this very special place, but we have every intention of returning! Thank you so much, Fiona and Robbie, for your warm welcome and all your hard work in creating this unique experience. Staying here has given Sian a 50th birthday present that she will never forget!

Crawford, November 2015
We spent our honeymoon in Hill cottage at Croft 103 this November. The house is the most well designed beautiful, and bespoke place we have stayed in to date. In November the scenery is as stunning as any other time of the year. You wake up to Ben Hope every morning, and for the keen photographers Ben Hope provides some dramatic, and constantly changing scenes. The owners were very welcoming and were always willing to help. We would highly recommend staying in croft 103 to anyone, and having experienced the area in November, at any time of the year.

Tony & Sarah, October 2015
We believe the definition of the words, amazing, beautiful and relaxation, in the dictionary should just be changed to ‘Croft 103’. Everything has been perfect including the sunshine and blue skies. Would have loved to have seen a storm over the Loch but we can’t be too picky. Thank you Fiona and Robbie, don’t know how you have created such a place. We will definitely be back.

Heidi & Em, September 2015
Thank you for the best holiday ever! Relaxing and chilled – love outdoor bath and concrete sofa. The area is also stunningly beautiful but hard to tear ourselves away from Croft 103! Even harder to return home tomorrow but cannot wait to return soon.

Isabelle & Guido, August 2015
This place in reality beats the advert! A smashing architectured house on a fantastic spot of nature and the interior just at the most positive modern edge. All of this and details like the bath outside made for us a place we truly loved. Thanks for all your efforts making this happen!

John & Heather, June 2015
We have loved being here…such a beautiful vista over Loch Eriboll, with the light and sky constantly changing. Not much sunshine, but not too much rain either! The croft is a comfortable, secluded oasis – thank you! The beaches along this coast are stunning, and the dog loves them too!

Trevor & Jules, June 2015
WOW just doesn’t do Hill Cottage justice. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and happy. Surrounded by the beauty of the Loch and the Luxury of Hill Cottage. We have stayed in the Maldives, Burj al Arab Dubai and many Villas across Europe. Croft 103 has surpassed them all with it’s style, luxury, location, privacy & peacefulness. Thank you.

Margaret & Oliver, June 2015
Difficult to say what we liked best. For example the wonderful, very well equipped kitchen, the feeling living in a carbon-neutral house, the space, the view, the view, the view ….. And, of course, the great outdoors. Thanks a lot! We will come back as soon as possible. P.S.: The salmon and the scallops were fantastic!

Ann & Roger, May 2015
Amazing house with fantastic views. We have thoroughly enjoyed our week and our two golden retrievers, Harry and Dylan, just loved the freedom of the surroundings. Thanks for a great stay.

Chris & Matt, March 2015
What you have created here leaves us running short of superlatives. The location, ethos, quality of the incredible place has no bounds. We hopefully will be back again soon.

Siegfried, September 2014
58*30’7″ N 4*42’18” W – all our longings culminate at this extraordinary place – what an spectacular view – what an outstanding architecture – what an eclectic interior design “There are places to remember” and this is really one of the best

 

 

 

TripAdvisorCroft 103 VisitScotland 5 StarsSawdaysBritain's FinestVernon's Choice in the 100 Best Self Catering in ScotlandFacebooktwitterInstagram